Posted by: martysweather | June 15, 2009

6/15/2009 @ 7AM in Bedford County, Tennessee

LOOK FOR THUNDERSTORMS TO MOVE IN FROM THE NORTHWEST LATER TODAY INTO THIS EVENING…WITH ANOTHER ROUND POSSIBLE LATE TONIGHT. SOME STORMS MAY BE SEVERE WITH DAMAGING WINDS AND HAIL

And so begins our Monday morning. The NWS has elevated our risk for severe weather today and tonight so keep a wary eye out. In the mean time our morning doesn’t look to shabby. I broke one of my own rules for living yesterday or at least we will admit to having made a “exception” since my lawyer friends say a rule can’t be enforced without a exceptions clause. I mowed about 2 hours worth of grass after lunch on Sunday because I didn’t want to get behind on my schedule and I expected some rainy weather this morning. But I still made it to Church on time and I had a extra shower so maybe I was extra clean. There isn’t a breath of wind this morning and no rain so far but we had a good load of dew that will be slow to dry in this Humidity. The birds are singing and they must have got up early “as birds usually do” and I had to refill the bird feeder. We have a new member to our wildlife group today as Herbie the turtle was galloping across the rocky flat area next to the house. Two minutes after I took this picture I came back to fill the bird feeder and he had traveled about 100 feet. I think they can run fast when people aren’t looking. Weather wise we have more of the same and our Thunder Shower chances remain through the mid week. Still there are lots of sunshine chances as well. Now for the facts.
We did not report any rain for the last 48 hours although we had some very near misses.
Temperature at 7 AM was 68 degrees. Warming quickly to 88 today and down to 65 or so tonight. That’s getting to be the routine here lately.
Barometer is 30.00″ and steady. We can’t get that pressure up to save our lives. There are just to many pockets of Low pressure hovering around the entire country here lately. The best description you could give for this is we are having a long spell of unsettled weather. But not really all that much rain to show for it.
Humidity was 95% and the Dew Point is near 70 degrees. It really didn’t feel that oppressive but maybe we are just getting accustomed to it. But my early chores left me winded so I guess there really is a lot of water in that air this morning.
Wind was calm early but look for more or less South to Southwest at 5 to 10 mph. Some stronger winds if you catch a thunder storm.
Sky is mostly cloudy and we will have a lot of clouds today and tonight but periods of Sun at times. That’s getting to be the routine here lately as well.
The Summary for today is Hot and Humid with Clouds and fairly good chances of Thunder Storms today and tonight. Still there will be lengthy periods of Sunshine as well. Watch out for turtles and have a great day.
Leave a Reply

Categories

